• Edit
  • View
  • Diffs
  • Info
  • Subscribe
  • Raw
  • Print

Trading Hut

The Trading Hut has become the focal point for many activities on site over recent years. There are always a bunch of plot holders and members there on a Sunday morning buying fertilisers etc., or simply socialising. The range of products on sale is improving all the time and good horticultural advice is in abundance.

The Trading Hut is very often the first point of contact for new members and Elaine, our Trading Secretary, ensures the prices are always competitive. If you are interested in helping out in the Trading Hut - either behind the counter or working behind the scene weighing and bagging up products, we are always looking for extra volunteers ... so please pop in and have a word with Elaine - you will be made very welcome!

For a detailed description of some commonly used fertilisers and how to use them see the WhatsItFor pages.

2018 Opening Times

This year the Trading Hut will be open from February to October between 10.30am and 12.00 noon on the first Saturday of most months, and on Sundays for most other weekends during the main growing season. Here is the full list of opening days:

  • Saturday February 3 and Sunday February 11, 18, 25
  • Saturday March 3 and Sunday March 11, 18, 25
  • Saturday April 7 and Sunday April 15, 22, 29
  • Saturday May 5 and Sunday May 13, 20, 27
  • Saturday June 2 and Sunday June 10, 17, 24
  • Saturday July 7 and Sunday July 22
  • Saturday August 4 and Sunday 19
  • Saturday September 1, Sunday September 9, 16, 23, 30
  • Saturday October 6

Come along and stock up on gardening products at keen prices, including compost and potash for your fruit bushes and trees, lime for the brassicas and your favourite general fertiliser - organic or otherwise.


SHAS Annual Plant Sale 2018

Once again, the Society is holding its annual plant sale with a great selection of competitively priced bedding plants, tubs and hanging baskets.

All orders and payments MUST be received no later than 12 Noon on Sunday 29th April 2018.

Your orders will be ready and must be collected from the SHAS Trading Hut, Grosvenor Road between 11:00am and 12:30pm on Saturday 5th May 2018

Please open the attached link for full details and order form

CLICK ON LINK TO ORDER FORM: plantsale2018.pdf


Seasonal Items

*** LIMITED AVAILABILITY - BUY SOON TO AVOID DISAPPOINTMENT!***

The following items will be on sale from Saturday 3rd February:

Seed Potatoes:

  • 1st Earlies: Arran Pilot: SORRY, SOLD OUT

  • Second Earlies: Charlotte: SORRY, SOLD OUT

  • Main Crop: Cara and Desire: SORRY, SOLD OUT

Onion Sets:

  • Sturon (white): SORRY, SOLD OUT

  • Red Baron (red): SORRY, SOLD OUT

Shallots:

  • Golden Gourmet: 90p per 300g pack

Look out for details of other seasonal products and special offers throughout the year


Stock Items

We stock a wide range of gardening items at very competitive prices. New additions to our range include Wild Bird Food and Advanced Slug Killer,which is safer for pets and wild life

To see out our stock range and prices, see our Stock Sheet. Please note prices are subject to change


Check regularly for updates and special offers


Finally, if there are any members who are able to spare 1½ hours on a Saturday or Sunday morning to help in the Trading Hut, Elaine our Trading Hut Manager would love to hear from you. We have a rota, so you would only have to help one week in every five or six. Any assistance will be much appreciated.


TradingHut (last edited 2018-04-17 11:27:00 by TonyTurnbull)